What are Britain’s top energy bosses paid?

Reading Time: 6 minutes

Britain’s domestic energy market is delivered by a mixture of publicly listed companies, privately owned businesses and subsidiaries of large international energy groups.

That creates an interesting difference in transparency.

For some suppliers, detailed executive remuneration is publicly available. For others, particularly privately owned companies, the remuneration of the individual chief executive is not publicly disclosed.

This page brings together the information that can be established from company annual reports, statutory accounts, Companies House filings and company disclosures.

Research checked: September 2026.

Executive summary

There is no single level of transparency over executive remuneration across Britain’s major domestic energy suppliers.

Publicly listed companies generally publish detailed executive-remuneration information. This can include salary, annual bonuses, long-term incentive plans, pensions, benefits and a single total-remuneration figure.

International energy groups also publish executive remuneration, although that remuneration relates to running the wider group and should not be interpreted as the cost of running its British retail supplier alone.

Private companies are generally not subject to the same detailed individual executive-remuneration disclosure requirements as quoted companies. Consequently, for several major British energy suppliers, we cannot establish from publicly available accounts how much the individual CEO is paid.

Private does not mean unpaid. It means the individual CEO remuneration figure is not publicly disclosed in the sources we examined.

What is publicly disclosed?

Energy supplierCEO / group executiveLatest remuneration we can identifyReporting period
ScottishPower / IberdrolaIgnacio Galán — Executive Chairman, Iberdrola & ScottishPower€15.87m2025
British Gas / CentricaChris O’Shea — CEO, Centrica£4.731m2025
Utility Warehouse / Telecom PlusStuart Burnett — CEO, Telecom Plus£2.203mFY2025
EDFLuc Rémont — former Chairman & CEO, EDF€450,0002024
E.ON Next / E.ONLeonhard Birnbaum — CEO, E.ONDisclosed at group level2025
Octopus EnergyGreg Jackson — CEOIndividual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosedLatest public accounts examined
OVOChris Houghton — CEO, retail energy businessIndividual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosedLatest public accounts examined
UtilitaBill Bullen — CEOIndividual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosedLatest public accounts examined
So EnergyCharlie Davies — CEOIndividual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosedLatest public accounts examined
E (Gas & Electricity)CEO not publicly identified in the sources examinedIndividual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosedLatest public accounts examined

There is an important distinction between these figures.

The remuneration reported for executives of Centrica and Telecom Plus relates to their respective listed parent companies. Figures for executives of large international groups such as Iberdrola and EDF relate to their responsibilities across those groups and not solely to ScottishPower or EDF’s British domestic energy supply operations.

They therefore should not be interpreted as a direct measure of the management cost of supplying British households.

British Gas / Centrica

British Gas is owned by Centrica plc, a publicly listed company.

Centrica’s 2025 Annual Report reports CEO Chris O’Shea’s total remuneration at £4.731 million.

That comprises approximately:

  • Salary: £1.039m
  • Annual incentive: £1.362m
  • Long-term incentive: £2.210m
  • Pension: £104,000
  • Benefits: £16,000

This illustrates why this page uses total remuneration rather than salary. Salary alone would substantially understate the total value reported under executive-remuneration rules.

Source: Centrica Annual Report 2025
https://www.centrica.com/media/zleovyxq/e26edv109x6eepbkvh76-2025-12-31-t01.html

Utility Warehouse / Telecom Plus

Utility Warehouse is operated by Telecom Plus plc.

Telecom Plus’s 2025 Annual Report reports CEO Stuart Burnett’s single-figure total remuneration at £2.203 million for FY2025.

Again, this includes more than basic salary and represents the company’s reported total remuneration measure.

Source: Telecom Plus Annual Report 2025
https://www.telecomplus.co.uk/~/media/Files/T/Telecomplus/documents/investors/reports-results-presentations/2025/telecom-plus-plc-annual-report-2025.pdf

ScottishPower / Iberdrola

ScottishPower forms part of the Spanish energy group Iberdrola.

Ignacio Galán is Executive Chairman of Iberdrola and Executive Chairman of ScottishPower.

Iberdrola’s remuneration disclosures report total remuneration of approximately €15.87 million for 2025.

This figure requires particularly careful interpretation.

It is remuneration associated with Galán’s executive responsibilities across the Iberdrola group. It must not be interpreted as €15.87 million being paid simply to run ScottishPower’s British retail energy business.

We include it because it is publicly disclosed executive remuneration associated with the parent group behind ScottishPower.

Sources:

Iberdrola — Ignacio Galán
https://www.iberdrola.com/about-us/management-team/chairman

Iberdrola Annual Financial Report 2025
https://financialfilings.com/filings/iberdrola-sa/annual-report/2026/32848132/

EDF

EDF provides another useful comparison because its ownership and remuneration arrangements are different.

Former EDF Chairman and CEO Luc Rémont received €450,000 in total remuneration for 2024, according to EDF’s Universal Registration Document.

The reported remuneration consisted of fixed remuneration rather than the much larger variable and long-term incentive arrangements seen at some listed companies.

Rémont subsequently left EDF in May 2025 and was replaced by Bernard Fontana.

The €450,000 figure is therefore explicitly presented here as Rémont’s 2024 remuneration, not the remuneration of EDF’s current leadership in 2026.

Sources:

EDF 2024 Universal Registration Document
https://www.edf.fr/sites/groupe/files/2025-04/2025-04-24-edf-urd-2024.pdf

EDF leadership announcement
https://www.edf.fr/groupe-edf/espaces-dedies/journalistes/tous-les-communiques-de-presse/nominations-au-sein-du-conseil-d-administration-composition-du-conseil-d-administration-proposition-de-bernard-fontana-en-qualite-de-pdg-d-edf-et-designation-de-ce-dernier-en-qualite

E.ON Next / E.ON

E.ON Next is part of the international E.ON group.

Leonhard Birnbaum is CEO of E.ON SE.

E.ON publishes executive remuneration information at group level. We have therefore classified E.ON as “disclosed at group level” rather than attempting to construct a figure for the leadership of the British retail supplier.

This distinction matters: remuneration for running a multinational energy group cannot reasonably be presented as remuneration for running E.ON Next alone.

Source: E.ON Integrated Annual Report 2025
https://financialfilings.com/filings/eon-se/annual-report/2026/32915822/

Octopus Energy

Octopus Energy Limited is a private company.

Greg Jackson is CEO and founder of Octopus Energy.

The public accounts we examined do not provide an individually attributable remuneration figure that allows us to state how much Jackson receives as CEO.

We therefore record his remuneration as:

Individual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosed.

That does not mean Octopus publishes no financial information, nor does it mean that its CEO receives no remuneration.

It means precisely what the description says: we cannot establish an individually disclosed CEO remuneration figure from the public accounts examined.

Source: Octopus Energy Limited — Companies House
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/09263424/filing-history

OVO

OVO appointed Chris Houghton as CEO of its retail energy business in 2025, replacing David Buttress.

OVO’s statutory accounts contain remuneration information, including information concerning its highest-paid director. However, this does not provide sufficient evidence to attribute that figure specifically to the current CEO.

We therefore do not do so.

OVO is classified here as:

Individual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosed.

Sources:

OVO — appointment of Chris Houghton
https://company.ovo.com/ovo-appoints-new-ceo-chris-houghton-to-lead-its-retail-business/

OVO Energy Limited — Companies House
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06890795/filing-history

Utilita

Bill Bullen is CEO of Utilita.

Utilita Energy Limited is privately owned. Its statutory accounts are publicly available through Companies House, but we have not identified an individually disclosed remuneration figure that can reliably be attributed to Bullen as CEO.

It is therefore classified as:

Individual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosed.

Source: Utilita Energy Limited — Companies House
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04849181/filing-history

So Energy

Charlie Davies is CEO of So Energy.

So Energy itself identifies Davies as CEO.

As with the other private suppliers in this comparison, we have not identified an individually attributable CEO-remuneration figure in the public accounts examined.

It is therefore classified as:

Individual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosed.

Sources:

So Energy — Charlie Davies
https://www.so.energy/media-centre/so-energy-awarded-sunday-times-best-place-to-work-for-third-year-running

So Energy Limited — Companies House
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/09144818/filing-history

E (Gas & Electricity)

E (Gas & Electricity) Limited is a private company.

Companies House identifies the company’s current directors, but in the public sources examined for this research we have not found sufficiently authoritative evidence identifying an individual holding the formal title of CEO.

Rather than infer that one of its directors is the CEO, we record:

CEO not publicly identified in the sources examined.

Individual CEO remuneration is consequently also recorded as:

Individual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosed.

Sources:

E (Gas & Electricity) Limited — Companies House filings
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08520118/filing-history

E (Gas & Electricity) Limited — officers
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08520118/officers

Why does the information differ?

The important finding isn’t simply that some executives receive millions of pounds.

It is that the level of public visibility differs substantially depending on the corporate structure behind the energy supplier.

Quoted companies are subject to extensive executive-remuneration reporting requirements. Their annual reports can make it possible to see salary, bonuses, long-term incentives, pensions and benefits for individual directors.

Private companies are not generally subject to the same detailed individual executive-remuneration disclosure regime.

As a result, two households can buy essentially the same product — domestic electricity and gas — from companies operating in the same regulated market while having very different levels of visibility over executive remuneration.

That is a legitimate transparency question for Britain’s energy market.

What this data does not show

These figures do not establish that any executive is overpaid or underpaid.

They do not demonstrate that executive remuneration is responsible for Britain’s electricity prices.

They also cannot be directly compared without recognising differences in company size, international operations, ownership structure and executive responsibilities.

Instead, this dataset answers a narrower question:

What can a member of the public establish about the remuneration of the executives running, or ultimately overseeing, some of Britain’s largest domestic energy suppliers?

Sometimes the answer is remarkably detailed.

Sometimes it isn’t publicly available.

Disclaimer and methodology

Information on this page was researched and checked in September 2026.

PolicySeed has compiled this information from publicly available company annual reports, statutory accounts, Companies House records and official company disclosures.

Remuneration figures are reproduced as reported by the relevant company or group and relate to the reporting periods stated. Where possible, we use the company’s single figure of total remuneration rather than basic salary.

Figures relating to executives of parent companies or international groups should not be interpreted as remuneration solely for operating the named GB domestic energy supplier.

Where this page states “individual CEO remuneration not publicly disclosed,” this means that we did not identify an individually attributable CEO-remuneration figure in the public sources examined. It does not mean that the executive receives no remuneration, that the company publishes no financial information, or that the company has failed to comply with any legal disclosure requirement.

Corporate positions and remuneration can change. Readers should consult the linked original documents for the underlying disclosures.

If a company believes information on this page is incorrect or has subsequently published information that provides greater transparency, PolicySeed welcomes corrections supported by the relevant public filing or disclosure.

Data checked: September 2026
Sources: company annual reports, statutory accounts, Companies House records and official company disclosures.